I can't believe how many girls maxi dresses there were at the premiere!

08/03/2013 17:00
My cousin managed to score some tickets for us for the premiere of the latest Pixar movie.  I'm telling you, those people know how to make a feature film.  The visual effects were stunning, the story was heartwarming and engaging, and the acting was terrific.  No wonder that company was bought by Disney.  They know what they're doing.  But that shouldn't come as a surprise to anyone.  What really took us by surprise was how the people dressed for the big party.  It seemed like all the girls there were wearing a girls maxi dress similar to this kind.  Maxi dresses were a big hit back in the 1970s, but I didn't realize they were back until last night!  I casually made a comment about it to the woman sitting next to me in the theater.  She works in the fashion industry and she explained the whole thing to me.
 
Maxis are super comfortable because they are so long and flowy.  They are also dressy enough to wear to an event like this, but casual enough to put on for a play date, school, or social event.  It's a dress that girls can use for so many different occasions, which explains why everyone loves them.  The new styles of maxis are updated versions of ones from the 70s, using new fabrics and prints to make them on trend and fashion forward.  Later, when I got home, my girl and I Googled "girls maxi dress" and indeed, they seem to be making a huge comeback.  There were a ton of sites devoted to the maxi dress for girls.  I can't possibly talk about all of them, but I'll focus on my favorite.  It was a site called TwirlyGirl and I love it best for the following reasons.  First of all, all of their dresses are manufactured in the USA.  That's so rare these days, and they should be supported for that reason alone.  But it gets better.  All of their girls dresses, including the maxi, come with a fun story or poem that gives some backstory about the item.  If you like reading things written by creative people, as I do, then just reading the content on this website will make you laugh and smile.  It's not just an ordinary online store.  It's more of a magical wonderland where crazy, unique things happen.  It's smart.  This company really knows how to market their dresses to girls.
 
Here's a link to their site.  Check it out and you'll see what I mean.  www.twirlygirlshop.com  In the meantime, keep checking in with my blog.  There are lots of great postings coming up!  Thanks for reading!