child steals girls capri leggings from schoolmate

10/05/2013 15:58
Okay, this disturbs me.  I have a six year old daughter.  She's a lovely girl, very curious, inquisitive and friendly.  But the other day she definitely committed a big no no in my books.  I don't want to shame the child, or exacerbate the problem, but it certainly needs to be addressed sooner than later.  If any of you have ideas or suggestions, please don't hesitate to leave them in the comments section below.  Ok, this is what's going on:
 
My child went to school wearing ordinary jeans.  I guess she didn't like them much, although she never told me she didn't, so how would I know. Anyway, one of the other kids was wearing a totally cute pair of girls capri leggings like these.  How do I know they were super cute?  Because my girl wound up stealing them!  Yes, she stole them!
 
I found the capri leggings for girls wedged inside the backpack.  When I asked my girl where she got the leggings, she was very cagey.  The next day, the school sent home a note accusing someone of the crime.  Gulp!  I'm living with a felon.  I immediately called the girls mother and said we had the capris, and I begged forgiveness.  She was very relieved and understanding of our predicament.  I also told my Celine that I would be more than happy to buy girls capri leggings of her own.  I even found a website that sold really unique stuff.  It was called TwirlyGirl and honestly, girls, I was blown away by their line of clothing.  Everything is manufactured in the USA and the quality is the best.  We ordered several pairs of capri leggings for girls, and when they arrived at our house I was very impressed.  My daughter was too, but let's face it, she's Mrs. Stickyfingers, so who can trust what she says.
 
 
Truthfully, I didn't want to reward that kind of kleptomaniac behavior.  Maybe it's just lazy parenting, but I knew that she really wanted girls capri leggings, and certainly, it's not big deal to buy some.  I mean, every girl should have capri leggings.  It's a very useful tool in any wardrobe, they are beautiful and funky.  It's not like I bought the kid a new car or pony.  In fact, we all grew up with them, and so should our kids.  I don't know.  Am I doing the right thing?  I think I am.  Help me out here.  Until I had kids, I only raised goldfish, and they died in the bowl.  It wasn't my fault though.  I didn't know they needed fresh water to live.  It's a little unfair to judge me on that.  I've done worse in my life.  The fact that I spent time in juvenile detention is proof of that.  But I was framed.  I didn't do anything and they know it.  Most of the kids in the joint were suspect.  I did learn how to pick locks there.
 
Here's a link to the TwirlyGIrl website.  Maybe this will shed some light on your decision.  Thanks again.